Speakers

Mr. Jens Bengtsson

Danish Ministry of Climate and Energy, Energistyrelsen (DK)

Dr. Tom Vanden Borre

DGTREN, European Commission / Institute for Environmental and Energy Law, Leuven University (B)

Mr. Anatole Boute

Groningen Centre of Energy Law, University of Groningen (NL)

Mr. Thiago Chagas

Climate Focus (NL)

Mr. Ron van Erck

DGTREN, European Commission (B)

Ms. Silke Goldberg

Herbert Smith LLP / University of Groningen (F / NL)

Dr. Wim Groenendijk

Board ENTSO-G / Gasunie (NL)

Dr. Nadia Horstmann LL.M

Bundesnetzagentur /
Chair ERGEG Task Force Agency Project Team (G)

Ms. Florence Melchior

ENTSO-E (B)

Mr. Esa Paasivirta

Legal Service, European Commission (B)

Mr. Erik Sieders

Ministry of Economic Affairs / National Co-ordinator Pentalateral Forum (NL)

Mr. Mark van Stiphout

DGTREN, European Commission (B)

Ms. Elisabeth Türk

Unctad (CH)

Mr. Wim Vandenberghe

DLA Piper (B)

Prof. dr. Hans Vedder

Groningen Centre of Energy Law, University of Groningen (NL)

Inquiries

Organising Office European Energy Law Seminar

T +31 (0)65 089 2434 F +31 (0)10 404 7590 E seminar@never.nl

Postal address
Dutch Energy Law Association
P.O. Box 9197
3301 AD Dordrecht
The Netherlands

Registration Forms and Shuttle Transport Forms can be downloaded from the website www.never.nl

Venue

Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin

Koningin Astrid Boulevard 5 2200 AB Noordwijk aan Zee The Netherlands T +31(0)71 361 9220

E info@huisterduin.com

PROGRAMME

23rd

European Energy Law Seminar

Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin Noordwijk aan Zee, the Netherlands

12 and 13 April 2010









in co-operation with



university of groningen

faculty of law groningen centre of energy law



Scandinavian Institute of Maritime Law University of Oslo

Sunday 11 April

19:15 Welcome Drink20:00 Meet & Greet Dinner Buffet

Monday 12 April

09:15 Welcome and Introduction

Access to Network and Storage Infrastructure - Flexibility and Supply Security

09:30 Interpretation of Access and Unbundling Provisions in the Third Energy Package Speaker: Mark van Stiphout

10:10 The Proposed Regulation for Securing Long-term Gas Supply Speaker: Silke Goldberg

10:50 Discussion
11:10 Coffee

Third Energy Package – Reregulating the Regulators

11:30 ACER and its Role in Regional Co-operation of National Regulators
Speaker: Nadia Horstmann

12:10 Challenges of the New Provisions on National Regulatory Authorities Speaker: Tom Vanden Borre

12:50 Discussion Lunch

Increased Co-operation of TSOs - Role of ENTSO

14:15 ENTSO-E: Analysis of Work Programme and Network Code Development

Speaker: Florence Melchior

14:50 ENTSO-G: Impact on Market Integration Speaker: Wim Groenendijk

15:30 Discussion

15:40 Tea

Market Integration following the Third Energy Package

16:00 Role of Pentalateral Energy Forum *Speaker: Erik Sieders*

16:20 Market Integration: How to make it happen? Panel with Representatives from ACER, ENTSO, EU Commission, Governments

17:30 End of Day I

20:00 Dinner

Tuesday 13 April

Recent Developments in EU Law

09:15 Recent Developments in EU Competition Law affecting the Energy Sector Speaker: Hans Vedder

09:50 The Lisbon Treaty – New Rules concerning Energy and Investment Speaker: Wim Vandenberghe

10:30 Coffee

Energy Investments in Europe

10:50 The Yukos Decision and its Impact on Energy Investments in Russia Speaker: Anatole Boute

11:30 The Impact of the Energy Charter Treaty on Intra-EU Investments

Speaker: Esa Paasivirta

12:10 Discussion

12:30 Lunch

Climate Change and Investments in the Energy Sector

13:45 Interaction between Climate Change and International Investment Law Speaker: Elisabeth Türk

14:30 Post-Copenhagen and Pre-Mexico: What happens with EU ETS and CDM? Speaker:Thiago Chagas

15:10 Discussion

15:20 Tea

Promoting Renewables in a liberalised Market

15:40 Directive 2009/28/EC on the Promotion of Renewables: Experiences and New Instruments Speaker: Ron van Erck

16:20 Alternative Instruments to Promoting Renewables: New Tools in the Danish Approach Speaker: Jens Bengtsson

17:15 Discussion

17:30 End of Seminar

17:45 Drinks

Possible amendments to the programme will be published on www.never.nl